LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 12:51 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 2:54 pm 
I'm still new to rear ends so sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but maybe it'll help others out there too... lets say I bought a used 9" rear end that has a 2.50 ratio. I could fit it with whatever ratio gears I want, right? Like 4.11 for example? Theres no difference in housing size where I'd have to get a whole new rear end, right? Also, anyone have the stock LUV rear end width? Thank you so much for the help guys!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 5:50 pm 
LUVTruck.com Lifer

the problem you can run into with swaping gears is sometimes you have to change the carrier along with it. most gear company`s usually have note section with there gears that you have to read to see what series carrier you need. i have seen 4 series gears on a 2 series carrier. the manufacture just makes the ring gear thicker to compensate. just check with your vendor of choice they should be able to tell you. if i remember right the luv rear end is about 54"there are other post in here that could tell you for sure. :twisted:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 5:55 pm 
Oh... ok, I get it now. Man those rear ends really are expensive though, huh?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 6:41 pm 
lives at LUVTruck.com

Different carriers are needed in most other rearends but a 9" uses the same carrier. They adjust by a theaded adjuster and does not require ring gear spacers or anything special no matter what ratio.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2003 9:20 pm 
LUVTruck.com Lifer

good point rat i forgot about the 9 being adjustable that goes for the ford 8 as well,yea i know its not as tough :roll: but i`m poor

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2003 1:49 pm