LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 3:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: '79 lightless Luv
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 6:46 pm 
:? I have a 79 1.8 ltr. I just got it a few months ago and it did fine, but now, none of the lights work. no headlights, sigals, brakes, flashers. the dash lights do work, but none of my guages work either. I have checked for any loose/broken connections (followed all the wires), changed the light switch, checked the other switches, I am still learning about mechanics so i'm not sure how to read a wiring diagram, so I was wondering if any of you have come across this before, cause I am stumped.
Thanks.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 10:01 pm 
It took me 15 years to get this through my thick head, but probably 90 percent of electrical problems are Ground related. Wiring hardly ever goes bad, as long as nothing's fried, although connectors can be a pain, especially in older British convertibles. Refer to the first sentence.

Know why the British drink warm beer?

They've all got Lucas refrigerators-

Your dash lights work, so you've got juice to the switch. hmmmm. I know this might sound stupid, but have you checked the fuses? Start simple and work back, most of the time the problem IS something simple, like a ground problem. Does the engine start? You've replaced the light switch, so you're pretty sure all your bases are covered there... I'd grab a test light and head for the fuse panel first, and see if you've got current on the supply side of each of the fuses and go from there.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 12, 2003 10:17 pm 
Addicted to LUV

on the subject of fuses, the fuse box (and location of) on the luv is not in what you might call a choice location and design.
the contact points tend to get corossion on them. get a bore brush for a rifle (.223 works good) and remove your fuses and use it to clean the contacts