LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:17 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: My '79 4x4
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:25 pm 

Discloser: I'm a newbie on here.

Now that we got that out of the way, what's up?! I was given a '79 4x4 luv by my grandfather after telling him I wanted it since I was about 8(I'm 23 now) and finally got my ducks in a row to start the slow going process of getting her back to her former glory. Since taking ownership of my dream truck(about a year ago), I have replaced the driver side fender that was messed up, and started the long task of getting years of "it'll get washed when it rains next week" off of it. So far so good, but still needs painted to get it where I want it. Luckily I know some people. Last week I bought a Pacesetter header for it and finally got it mounted up yesterday. Ran into some issues putting it back together, the main one being a primary tube wanting to hit the clutch linkage. No big deal right? correct. I just hit the tube with a 2lb dumbbell until it provided clearance to let her be as free and easy as she was. The next issue was a little larger than that. With my luv being a 4wd, the header doesn't fit the greatest. Where the factory ran exhaust is routed under the crossmember, it puts it about ~2.5" directly under the collector. Once again, not a huge issue, but a mild inconvenience nonetheless. The biggest problem I hit while putting it all back together. You ready? Ok, here it goes. Dead cylinder that wasn't there 20 minutes prior. The steps you're about to read is what happened.
1: undo the carb hat intake and move it out of the way to get the header back out
2: take the header off
3: bang bang bang with the 2lb weight
3: sweet it fits
4: header bolts back in
5: intake back on
6: spark plug wires back on
7: no start.