LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 7:01 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:08 pm 
LUVTruck.com Regular

I have been doing prep on my LUV for about 2 months now, i am about 100 hours and 1500 dollars deep into this project and want to see a finish that will reflect that. So far I have in chronological order:

1. Removed all trim, mirrors, bumper, etc.

2. Stripped the entire body down (door jambs included) to bare metal, I started with chemical stripper and made sure to seal off seams and what not. I then DA sanded it with P80 grit, and finally I went over all of the very rusty spots with a steel wire drill fitted brush.

3. I hammered high spots on the body in with a hammer so that they were just slight indents rather than bumps (how they became bumps, I do not know?). I then filled all of the dents with bondo making sure to clean the surface with wax/grease remover before filling.

4. inserted heavy guage wire between the rubber window seams so as to create a lip where fresh paint would not have otherwise been able to reach.