LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:57 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 6:19 pm 

Hi folks, I'm new to the LUV world and have a question.

I just picked up an 82 Diesel LUV 4x2 with a blown 5 speed transmission but a decent engine and body for a dollar (good deal!). We took out the transmission last night and knew it was trashed when I drained it and out flowed a nice steady stream of gear oil and metal bits. I cracked the case and sure enough the countershaft bearings went south and trashed the seats (and the gears... and the countershaft... and the case).

So, after spending all morning on the phone with junkyards trying to find a transmission for this (no luck) and after reading the horror stories of the 5 speed zu transmission, I'm leaning towards swapping in the T5 that came with the S10 diesels.

A few questions before I dump any money into this.

First, the LUV has a cable clutch while the S10 has a hydraulic. How did you work around this? I don't have the T5 and appropriate bellhousing yet but I want to make sure I have a decent list of parts I'm going to need before I go dumping money.

Are there any mount issues with the T5? Am I going to need to fab a new rear mount for the tranny?

The clutch and pressure plate. Are they the same in the LUV and S-10 and if not, which do I use?

Is the shifter mount in the same space or am I going to need to cut a new hole for it?

And lastly, I have a lead on a 4x4 diesel LUV transmission. Would this be able to mount up to the engine and if so can I just leave the transfer case there in the vain hope I come across 4x4 front end one day. It wouldn't be my first choice, but only a stop gap.

Thanks in advance for helping a newbie :)

Post subject: pulling out hair...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 5:25 pm