LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:04 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:29 pm 

Hello, and thank you all for this wonderful forum. I have an '82 LUV Deisel 2WD with a beefed up frame (quarter inch plate welded to the frame) as well as a Reese hitch welded to the frame. How much will my LUV tow? I am wanting to pull a small 15' travel trailer that weighs 2700lb and has electric brakes the tongue weight is about 300lb. Is this too much for the LUV?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 8:15 pm 
Addicted to LUV

Im not an expert by any means but it sounds like your frame is plenty strong, and since the trailer has brakes it shouldnt be a problem to tow, 2700lbs isnt a whole lot to tow, the danger is usually when the trailer is heavy and has no brakes, can push a light truck like a luv down the road if you lock up the brakes and cause some scary situations...

1993 Lexus SC400 my Daily
2004 Yamaha WR250F my new love in life
2016 Toyota Camry my girls ride

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 7:53 am 
Addicted to LUV

Wow, I'm impressed that you're able to pull it.

If I recall correctly, it's rated for 200 lbs. tongue weight and 1,500 lbs. total. You're at 300/2,700. Your trailer is still just about the same weight as the truck. Even with trailer brakes, that seems a little scary to me. You said the hitch is welded to the frame. Is yours a short bed, or long bed? I'd feel a little better if long bed, as the wheelbase is longer.

Jack

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:55 pm