LUVTruck.com

phpBBV3 Message Board
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:20 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:07 pm 

i have a 2001 chevy and i've been having problems with it ever since they went to puttin 10% in the gas... sometimes the truck doesn't wanna crank it start up idle for a few seconds a cut off but if you crank it up and hit the gas it will stay running as long as you push the accelerator.. come to a stop sign does the same thing.. and it only does it sometimes not every time.. anybody else have this problem?? the guy at the local parts house sold me some gas treatment called HEET and i put it in let it sit for a while and went to crank it up and it has been running fine.. please help and give me some feedback so i can get this stopped if possible

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:23 pm 
Addicted to LUV

I haul gas for a living.

If there is ANY water in your tank (or the store's tank), the ethanol will seperate from the gasoline in your tank and blend with the water. The water and enthanol will sink to the bottom of the tank, where the fuel line pick up is. That causes big problems. Where you might have had a trace amount of water in your gas (no big deal usually) the ethanol blends in it creating a mess. Say you have a 20 gallon tank and 10% of it is ethanol. That's potentially 2 gallons of water + ethanol in the bottom of your tank once the phase seperation happens.

It gets worse... Gasoline now that is blended with Ethanol comes from the refinery at 84 Octane. The high octane rating of the ethanol brings it back to 87. If you remove the water from your tank.. you're left with 84 octane gas.

I just noticed you're in Cleveland, MS. I actually used to haul gas to a couple of places down there with my last gas hauling job. Small world.